Minnesota Historical Society M-Flame Logo

Historic Resources Advisory Committee

Responsibility for administering this new competitive grants program lies with the Minnesota Historical Society. The appropriations bill (H.F. 1231) establishes the Committee:

The Minnesota Historical Society shall appoint a historic resources advisory committee, with balanced statewide membership and representatives of local, county, and statewide historical and cultural organizations and programs, to provide policy and grant making guidance on expenditures of funds from this paragraph. This membership shall include, but is not limited to, members representing the interests of historic preservation, local history, archaeology, archival programs, and other cultural programs related to the history of Minnesota. This committee shall seek input from all interested parties, and shall make recommendations for expenditures from these funds to the executive council of the Minnesota Historical Society; all expenditures must meet the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 138.01.


The Historic Resources Advisory Committee consists of thirteen members serving two-year terms and two ex-officio members. Members were selected following an open solicitation process held during late winter 2014. They represent a variety of disciplines and are from diverse areas of the state. The committee roster for 2015:

  • Leanne Brown, Eden Prairie (Chair)
    • Director of Development, Carver County Library/Library Foundation
    • Formerly, Executive Director, Carver County Historical Society
    • Qualified in grantmaking, history, project management and museum studies
  • Suzanne Blue, Red Wing
    • Entrepreneur
    • Community Leader
    • Qualified in business development, historic preservation, governance
  • Jack Byers, Minneapolis
    • Manager, Minneapolis Community Planning and Economic Development Department (CPED)
    • Manages CPED's Preservation and Design Section
    • Qualified in historic preservation, architecture, urban geography and planning
  • Mark Edevold, Bagley
    • M.A. Anthropology
    • Formerly, Executive Director, Beltrami County Historical Society & Mayor of Bagley
    • Qualified in archaeology, construction, facility management
  • Kristi Link Fernholz, Appleton
    • Senior Planner, Upper Minnesota Valley Regional Development Commission
    • Active with Minnesota Valley National Scenic Byway
    • Qualified in grants management, regional government, graphic arts, and interpretation
  • David Hakensen, Minnetonka
    • Manager, Fleishman Hillard
    • Qualified in crisis communications, media coaching and mergers and acquisition messaging
  • Ginny Lackovic, Minneapolis
    • Registered Architect, HGA Architects and Engineers
    • Involved in restoration work on the Minnesota State Capitol, St. Paul Union Depot, and Pantages Theatre in Minneapolis
    • Qualified in historic architecture
  • Andrea LaVasseur, Bemidji
    • U.S. Forest Service Program Manager, Retired
    • M.A. Anthropology
    • Qualified in anthropology, project management, federal and tribal government
  • Amy Spong, St.Paul
    • Historic Preservation Specialist, City of St. Paul
    • Formerly, grants administrator of Colorado State Historical Fund
    • Qualified in historic preservation, project management, grant making and local government
  • Michael Worcester, Cokato
    • Director, Cokato Historical Museum and Akerlund Studio
    • Formerly, board member of Minnesota Alliance of Local History Museums
    • Qualified in local history, project management, museum collections care and management
  • Mike Brubaker, Becker
    • Executive Director, Sherburne History Center
    • Phd candidate (ABD) History, Georgia State University
    • Master of Arts, Utah State University
    • Qualified in local history, genealogy, archives, exhibits, and collections management
    • Qualified 
  • Sara M. Hanson, White Bear Lake
    • Executive Director, White Bear Lake Historical Society
    • M.A., Public History, St Cloud State University
    • Qualified in local history, research, and collections 
  • Ann Grandy, Glenwood
    • Collections Manager, Pope County Historical Society
    • Master of Liberal Arts, History, Harvard Extension School
    • Qualified in collection management, exhibits, research

Ex Officio Members

  • William Stoeri, Minneapolis, ex-officio member (president of the MHS Board)
  • Dean Nelson, Saint Paul, ex-officio member (treasurer of the MHS Board)



Upcoming Meetings



The Minnesota Historical and Cultural Grants Program has been made possible by the Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund through the vote of Minnesotans on November 4, 2008. Administered by the Minnesota Historical Society.