Minnesota History: Building A Legacy

AirSpace Minnesota: Oral History Project

  • Project Overview
  • Project Details

Project Overview

Recipient: AirSpace Minnesota

To document in 6-8 interviews the history of individuals who have been underrepresented in Minnesota's aviation and aerospace industry.

Project Details

To document in 6-8 interviews the history of individuals who have been underrepresented in Minnesota's aviation and aerospace industry.

Fund Availability:

09/01/2013 - 09/01/2014

Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota for 2011 Chapter 6, Article 4, Subdivision 5, Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants.

Appropriation Language
Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants. $5,250,000 the first year and $5,250,000 the second year are for history programs and projects operated or conducted by or through local, county, regional, or other historical or cultural organizations; or for activities to preserve significant historic and cultural resources.

Funding Amount: $7,250

Direct Expenses: $7,250

Project Manager

Kristi Wangstad
AirSpace Minnesota
6975 34th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55450

Members of Recipient's Governing Body: Noel Allard, Minnesota Aviation Hall of Fame; John Andrews, Northern Star Council, Boy Scouts; Dr. Tom Bartoe, PTB & Associates Inc. and STARBASE Minnesota (Treasurer); Neil Brackin, General Mills; Clayton T. Cowl, MD, MS, Mayo Clinic; Don Craighead, DHC Enterprises; Bruce DeWitt, ATK; Dr. William Garrard, University of Minnesota and Minnesota Space Grant Consortium; Jeff Hamiel, Metropolitan Airports Commission; Gordon Hoff, Minnesota Business Aviation Association; Andrea Kajer, Minnesota Historical Society; Bruce Kitt, NWA History Centre; Dale Klapmeier, Cirrus Aircraft (Board Chair); Commander Chip Laingen, U.S. Navy (retired); Defense Alliance; William Lentsch, Delta Airlines; Sean McAfee, 3M; Brigadier General Mark Ness (retired) Ann Novacheck, Lindquist & Vennum; Doug Paulson, Minnesota Department of Education; Don Piccard, Piccard Balloons; Eric Raarup, Avtex; Ray Rought, Minnesota Aviation and History Education Center; Brigadier General Dennis Schulstad (retired), Employer Support of the Guard & Reserve; Doug Spong, Carmichael Lynch Spong; Jana Vaughan, Airport Foundation MSP; Steve Wagner, Lake Superior College, MnSCU; Brad Westphal, Honeywell Aerospace; Lt. Colonel Richard Wiessner (retired), MN Air National Guard Historical Foundation; Elaine Wyatt, Girl Scouts of Minnesota and Wisconsin River Valleys

Subject: History

Administering Agency

Minnesota Historical Society

Board Members:

Minnesota Historical Society Governing Board:

William R. Stoeri, President
Missy S. Thompson, Vice President
Ruth Huss, Vice President
D. Stephen Elliott, Secretary
Dean M. Nelson, Treasurer

Suzanne Blue
Brenda J. Child
Robert Bruininks
Judith S. Corson
D. Stephen Elliott
Phyllis Rawls Goff
William D. Green
David R. Hakensen
Ruth S. Huss
Martha Kaemmer
Dennis L. Lamkin
David M. Larson
Charles Mahar
Dean M. Nelson
Elizabeth M. Nordlie
Dennis Nguyen
Peter R. Reis
Hussein Samatar
Simon Stevens
Susan Kenny Stevens
William R. Stoeri
Karen Wilson Thissen
Missy Staples Thompson
Eleanor Winston

Mark Dayton, Governor
Yvonne Prattner Solon Lieutenant Governor
Mark Ritchie, Secretary of State
Lori Swanson, Attorney General
Rebecca Otto, State Auditor

Advisory Group Members:

Historic Resources Advisory Committee

Mark Peterson, Winona (Chair)
- Executive Director, Winona County Historical Society
- Governor's appointee to Minnesota Sesquicentennial and Minnesota Humanities Commissions
- Qualified in history, historic preservation and history museum administration

Leanne Brown, Eden Prairie
- Director of Development, Carver County Library/Library Foundation
- Formerly, Executive Director, Carver County Historical Society
- Qualified in history, project management and museum studies

Jack Byers, Minneapolis
- Manager, Minneapolis Community Planning and Economic Development Department (CPED)
- Manages CPED's Preservation and Design Section
- Qualified in historic preservation, architecture, urban geography and planning

Tamara Edevold, Bagley
- Executive Director, Clearwater County Historical Society
- Active in Minnesota's Historic Northwest, regional historical organization
- Qualified in history, archaeology, anthropology and history museum administration

Ram Gada, Eden Prairie
- Engineer
- Active in the documentation of Minnesota's East Indian community
- State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB), former member
- Qualified in engineering, energy consulting and grants administration

William Latady, Tower
- Bois Forte Deputy Tribal Historic Preservation Officer
- Curator, Bois Forte Heritage Museum
- Qualified in archaeology, anthropology, historic preservation and history museum administration

Benjamin Vander Kooi, Luverne
- Attorney practicing as Vander Kooi Law Offices, P.A., in Luverne, MN
- Active in Vote Yes! Campaign
- Past chair, MN State Arts Board
- Advisor, National Trust for Historic Preservation
- Qualified in historic preservation, nonprofit and grants administration

Brenda Child, Minneapolis
- Chair, Department of American Indian Studies, University of Minnesota
- Enrolled member, Red Lake Nation
- Qualified in history, American Studies and American Indian Studies

Nicole Foss, Bemidji
- Executive Director, Beltrami County Historical Society, Bemidji, MN
- Qualified in anthropology, historical archaeology, library and museum fields

Kris Kiesling, Roseville
- Director of Archives and Special Collections at University of MN Libraries
- State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB) member
- Qualified in library and archives, digital services and history

Jan Louwagie, Marshall
- Coordinator, Southwest Minnesota Regional Research Center, Southwest Minnesota State University
- Founding member of Society for the Study of Local and Regional History
- Former member of State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB)
- Qualified in history and archival administration

Ann Meline, Saint Cloud
- Deputy Director, Stearns History Museum, St. Cloud
- Formerly Assistant Director/Public Programs managing Exhibits, Collections and Education Departments
- Former grant reviewer for Institute of Museum and Library Services
- Qualified in history, nonprofit and museum administration

Peter Reis, White Bear Lake
- President, White Bear Lake Area Historical Society
- Chair, Minnesota Historical Society's Grants Review Committee
- Qualified in history and nonprofit and grants administration

William Stoeri, Minneapolis
- Ex-officio member (president of the MHS Board)

Missy Staples Thompson, Saint Paul
- Ex-officio member (treasurer of the MHS Board)

Conflict of Interest Disclosed: None

Quick Facts

Project Type: Grants

Recipient: AirSpace Minnesota

Funding Amount: $7,250

Source: Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund

Status: In Progress

Appropriation Years: 2014

Recipient Type: Non-Profit Business/Entity

Activity Type: Grants/Contracts

Counties Impacted: Statewide

MN Senate District: 60

MN House District: 60B

This site is updated regularly with descriptions and data related to Legacy projects funded through the Minnesota Historical Society by the Legacy Amendment's Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund (ACHF).
Further information about the use and impact of all Legacy Funds can be found on the Minnesota Legislative Coordinating Commission's Minnesota's Legacy site.